Michigan.Gov/DHS Newhire Michigan.Gov
   Michigan.gov    New Hire Home | Site Index | Contact Us      
Reporting Basics
Frequently Asked Questions
Electronic Reporting
Multistate Reporting
Commonly Requested Forms
File Submission Layout

Reporting Basics

Register for Online Reporting
Print New Hire Reporting Form

All employers and/or labor organizations in all 50 states are required by Federal law1 to report their new hires and re-hires to a state directory to expedite the collection of child support payments. This requirement establishes the employers’ role as a key partner in efforts to facilitate a family’s financial stability and for children to get the support to which they are entitled.

Specifically, the requirement to report new hires is intended to:

  • Expedite the income withholding process for child support payments
  • Aid in locating non-custodial parent for paternity establishment
  • Assists in the establishment of child support orders
  • Saves taxpayer dollars by helping to prevent welfare fraud, worker’s compensation and unemployment compensation.

For more information on this law, please visit our Frequently Asked Questions.

If you have employees in multiple states, see our multistate employers information.

Who is required to report?

Employers and/or labor organizations doing business in the State of Michigan must report the following employees:

  • New employees who reside or work in the State of Michigan to whom the employer anticipates paying earnings. Employees must be reported even if they work only one day and are terminated (prior to the employer fulfilling the new hire reporting requirement).

  • Re-hires or Re-called employees: those who return to work after being laid off; furloughed; separated; granted a leave without pay; or terminated from employment after 60 days. Employers must also report any employee who remains on the payroll during a break in service or gap in pay, and then returns to work after 60 days. This includes teachers, substitutes, seasonal workers, etc.

  • Temporary employees: Temporary agencies must report any employee who they hire to report for an assignment. Employees need to be reported only once; they do not need to be re-reported each time they report to a new client. They do need to be reported as a re-hire if the worker has a break in service or gap in wages.

What do I have to report?

Employee Information


  • Employee's full name (First, middle, and last name.)
  • Employee's address
  • Employee's Social Security Number
  • Employee's date of hire
  • Employee's state of hire (only if reporting as a Multistate employer)


  • Employee's date of birth
  • Employee's state of hire
  • Employee's driver's license

Employer Information


  • Employer's name (corporate name)
  • Employer's address ( address where Income Withholding Orders should be sent)
  • Employer's Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN). If you have more than one FEIN, use the same FEIN you use to report your quarterly wage information when reporting new hires.


  • Employer phone #
  • Employer Fax #
  • Employer email address
  • Employer Contact Name
  • Employer State Identification Number (SEIN)

Additional information may be required if reporting electronically. Please see electronic reporting specifications.

When do I have to report?

Employers must submit their new hire reports within 20 days after the employee is hired or re-hired or returns to work. Employers who submit reports magnetically or electronically shall submit the reports in two monthly transmissions not more than sixteen days apart.

How do I report new hires?

In Michigan, employers have several options to report new hire:

Electronic Reporting

Non-Electronic Reporting 

  • Printed List - If your software is unable to export your new hire information in our electronic format, you might be able to have your software create a printed list containing your new hire data.

    The printed list should contain all of the required information on the New Hire Reporting Form, be created using at least a 10-point font size, and have the employer's name, Federal Employer Identification Number, and address clearly displayed at the top of the report.


  • New Hire Reporting Form (click here to download). You may download, print, fill out, and fax or mail us a New Hire Reporting Form.


  • W-4 Form - If you choose to submit a W-4 form as a new hire report, please ensure that each W-4 is easily readable and has the employer's name, Federal Employer Identification Number, and address written at the top of each form.

Other Reporting Methods

Payroll Service: If you use a payroll or accounting service, consider asking the service to report your new hires for you. Leading payroll services are already electronically reporting new hires for thousands of employers.

Where do I report new hires?

Electronic Reports - Using our Web site's online reporting feature is a very popular choice for employers. This feature provides a printable confirmation of reports received and is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Employers can send new hire data files in a variety of ways, including transferring files through this Web site, through internet connection using File Transfer Protocol (FTP), or mail reports to the Michigan New Hires Operation Center on diskette. Click here to learn more about electronic reporting.

Non-Electronic Reports - Paper new hire reports may either be faxed or mailed to the Michigan New Hires Operation Center.

Mail reports to:
Michigan New Hires Operation Center
P.O. Box 85010
Lansing, MI  48908-5010
Fax reports to:

Please call the Michigan New Hires Operation Center toll-free at 800-524-9846 for any questions regarding the new hire reporting process. Our telephone system can help you 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Help desk staff are available to answer your questions Monday through Friday from 8:00am to 5:00pm Eastern Time.

1The Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act (PRWORA) of 1996, 42 U.S.C. 653a, requires all employers to report newly hired and re-hired employees to a state directory within 20 days of their hire or re-hire date.