All employers and/or labor organizations in all 50 states are
required by Federal law1 to report their new hires and re-hires to a
state directory to expedite the collection of child support payments.
This requirement establishes the employers’ role as a key partner in
efforts to facilitate a family’s financial stability and for children
to get the support to which they are entitled.
Specifically, the requirement to report new hires is intended to:
- Expedite the income withholding process for child support payments
- Aid in locating non-custodial parent for paternity establishment
- Assists in the establishment of child support orders
- Saves taxpayer dollars by helping to prevent welfare fraud, worker’s
compensation and unemployment compensation.
For more information on this law, please visit our Frequently Asked
If you have employees in multiple states, see our multistate employers information.
Who is required to report?
Employers and/or labor organizations doing business in the State of
Michigan must report the following employees:
- New employees who reside or work in the State of Michigan
to whom the employer anticipates paying earnings. Employees must be
reported even if they work only one day and are terminated (prior to
the employer fulfilling the new hire reporting requirement).
- Re-hires or Re-called employees: those who return to work
after being laid off; furloughed; separated; granted a leave without
pay; or terminated from employment after 60 days. Employers must also
report any employee who remains on the payroll during a break in service
or gap in pay, and then returns to work after 60 days. This includes
teachers, substitutes, seasonal workers, etc.
- Temporary employees: Temporary agencies must report any
employee who they hire to report for an assignment. Employees need to
be reported only once; they do not need to be re-reported each time
they report to a new client. They do need to be reported as a re-hire
if the worker has a break in service or gap in wages.
What do I have to report?
- Employee's full name (First, middle, and last name.)
- Employee's address
- Employee's Social Security Number
- Employee's date of hire
- Employee's state of hire (only if reporting as a Multistate employer)
- Employee's date of birth
- Employee's state of hire
- Employee's driver's license
- Employer's name (corporate name)
- Employer's address ( address where Income Withholding Orders should be sent)
- Employer's Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN). If you have more than one FEIN, use the same FEIN you use to report your quarterly wage information when reporting new hires.
- Employer phone #
- Employer Fax #
- Employer email address
- Employer Contact Name
- Employer State Identification Number (SEIN)
Additional information may be required if reporting electronically.
Please see electronic reporting specifications.
When do I have to report?
Employers must submit their new hire reports within 20 days after the
employee is hired or re-hired or returns to work. Employers who submit
reports magnetically or electronically shall submit the reports in two
monthly transmissions not more than sixteen days apart.
How do I report new hires?
In Michigan, employers have several options to report new hire:
- Printed List - If your software is unable to export
your new hire information in our electronic format, you might be able to have
your software create a printed list containing your new hire data.
The printed list should contain all of the required information on the New
Hire Reporting Form, be created using at least a 10-point font size, and have
the employer's name, Federal Employer Identification Number, and address
clearly displayed at the top of the report.
- New Hire Reporting
Form (click here to download).
You may download, print, fill out, and fax or mail us a New Hire
- W-4 Form - If you choose to submit a W-4 form as a new hire report,
please ensure that each W-4 is easily readable and has the employer's
name, Federal Employer Identification Number, and address written at the
top of each form.
Other Reporting Methods
Payroll Service: If you use a payroll or accounting service,
consider asking the service to report your new hires for
you. Leading payroll services are already electronically reporting new
hires for thousands of employers.
Where do I report new hires?
Electronic Reports - Using our Web site's online reporting feature is a very popular choice
for employers. This feature provides a printable confirmation of reports
received and is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Employers can send new hire data files in a variety of ways, including transferring files
through this Web site, through internet connection using File Transfer Protocol (FTP), or mail reports to
the Michigan New Hires Operation Center on diskette. Click here to learn more about electronic
Non-Electronic Reports - Paper new hire reports may either be faxed or mailed to the Michigan New Hires Operation Center.
Mail reports to:|
Michigan New Hires Operation Center
P.O. Box 85010
Lansing, MI 48908-5010
Fax reports to:
Please call the Michigan New Hires Operation Center
toll-free at 800-524-9846 for any questions regarding the new hire reporting
process. Our telephone system can help you 24 hours a day, seven days a
week. Help desk staff are available to answer your questions Monday through Friday
from 8:00am to 5:00pm Eastern Time.
1The Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation
Act (PRWORA) of 1996, 42 U.S.C. 653a, requires all employers to report newly
hired and re-hired employees to a state directory within 20 days of their hire
or re-hire date.